tempImagePUgFNZ.png

Seahorse Around Britain

Susannah and Didi on an Adventure

 
Search

Beaulieu to Yarmouth

Sunday 20 June 2021 Final day! Raining of course first thing but we set off anyway from Gins Farm and started to think about packing the...

Brighton to Beaulieu

Saturday 19th June 2021 Left Brighton for the penultimate leg of our journey. Wind behind us, but light, so we motor sailed passing...

Eastbourne to Brighton

Friday 18th June 2021 We woke up to a miserable forecast - particularly note Fog column....! Nevertheless, after a cup of tea, the...

Dover to Eastbourne

Thursday 17th June 2021 After our lovely evening at the Royal Cinque Ports Yacht Club, we awoke to heavy rain and fog forecast. Intrepid...

Ramsgate to Dover

Wednesday 15 June 2021 We left Ramsgate around 9.30. A pretty port with lots of little restaurant/cafes on the seafront and even a...

Shotley Marina to Ramsgate

Tuesday 15th June 2021 A day that required much navigational preparation as we crossed the Thames Estuary. The Marine Traffic map does...

Lowestoft to Shotley Marina (Harwich)

Monday 14 June 2021 Continuing our progress around the bulge of Norfolk and Suffolk. More shifting sands with depths down to 0.8 under...

Wells to Lowestoft

Sunday 13th June 2021 Left Wells at first opportunity at 7.30 am, 2 hours before HW. A lovely fair tide took us around the corner of...

Wells Next the Sea

Saturday 12 June We had a day off! We started the day with Dressing the Ship - celebration of HM’s The Queen’s birthday - surprised our...

Grimsby to Wells next the Sea

Friday 11th June 2021 An early start was dictated by the need to arrive in Wells in a precise window of 2 hours before HW. We left at 5...

Filey Bay to Grimsby Dock

Thursday 10 June 2021 Light wind F1-2 SW in the morning - very calm. Sea pretty flat, land flat, full of wind turbines and not much...

Whitby to Filey Bay

Wednesday 9th June 2021 The bridge didn't open until 2.30 pm, and so we had a lovely morning exploring Whitby and visiting the Capt. Cook...

Hartlepool to Whitby

Tuesday 8 June 2021 We entered the lock with 2 other boats who had clearly done this many times before. Everything is always new on a...

Blyth to Hartlepool

Monday 7th June 2021 We are now constrained by locks as well as tide and wind. We managed a few hours sailing before needing to put on...

Amble to Blyth

Sunday 6th June 2021 The navigation challenges included rounding Coquet Island east of Amble although Susannah was tempted by the inner...

Holy Island to Amble

Saturday 5th June 2021 Left our wonderful mooring at Holy Island late on the tide in order to visit Lindisfarne Priory and museum. Passed...

Eyemouth to Holy Island

4 June 2021 Set off for Holy Island with wind F2-3 SW. Completely perfect sail with fluffy white clouds to steer by - we haven’t had many...

Arbroath to Eyemouth

Thursday 3 June 2021 The locks opened 15 minutes late which was a bit anxious making as we needed the south-going tide to get to...

Stonehaven to Abroath

Wednesday 2nd June 2021 Despite threat of fog banks along east coast, desperate to be off and as soon as the fog lifted enough to see the...

Bank Holiday weekend in Stonehaven

1 June 2021 Plenty of time to mooch around Stonehaven waiting for the engine parts to arrive from Falkirk. We needed a new fuel injector...